Looking for an ACME saw filer

Discussion in 'Saw Makers Forum' started by bearkatwood, Apr 24, 2018.

1. bearkatwood

bearkatwood New Member

Hello everyone, my first post here is going to be to see if anyone knows where I might find an ACME saw filer and vise in good working order. I am a saw maker in the Pacific North West of the US. Washington State. I have been making saws for about 4 years and have recently gotten very busy so I would like to upgrade my tooling. If anyone knows where I might find one in good working order I would be very thankful. I look forward to getting to know the people that frequent this saw making forum. Thanks
    Brian Noel
    BearKat Wood

17638-A.jpg

2. TraditionalToolworks

TraditionalToolworks Most Valued Member

Hi Brian!

I've seen them around on ebay and craigslist, but the problem is always shipping. I'd be curious to know how it works, the Foley equipment in general is pretty crude, so it wouldn't be too hard for the Acme to be better. Those vises are sought after because they're wide, I've seen them by themselves in the wild...but haven't really bought much saw stuff in years.

This forum is not very active, but goes in spurts. Your saws look nice.

Where are you located though, that could determine if it would be worth shipping something or not. I'm all the way out in California.

Cheers,
    Alan

3. bearkatwood

bearkatwood New Member

I am located in the Northwest corner of the Northwest on Whidbey Island in Washington. About as far away from everyone else without leaving the country as I can get unfortunately. I had found two vises through Jim Bode, but sadly they didn't have the base or filer attached which is what I would like. I had heard of one selling recently in very good condition for $1,000 that had the automatic filer and base, finding a similar deal would be ideal. Hoping lightning will strike and I will find one. Thanks, nice to meet you Alan.

4. TraditionalToolworks