Installing folded backs...troubleshooting?

Discussion in 'Saw Makers Forum' started by mattsworld, Feb 27, 2012.

1. mattsworld

mattsworld Member

Greetings fellow saw makers...

I have been doing a lot of work with backsaws over the past year and would like your thoughts on installing folded backs. I often straighten saw plates for customers and re-install backs to straighten toothlines on vintage saws, and I also teach saw building at two local woodworking schools in CT and RI.

My questions are:

1) I use saw plates punched on a Foley. Do any of you smith the plates true before installing the back? Or do you smith them after installation? I have done both.

2) Do you have any other approaches to truing the toothline after the back is installed?

3) I have found the process of straightening the toothline after back and tote installation to be just too daunting for students in class and am considering milled backs, but I have never worked with them before as my work is always on old saws. Any tips?

Thanks in advance,

Matt Cianci
    www.thesawblog.com

2. TraditionalToolworks

TraditionalToolworks Most Valued Member

I do whatever I need to do. I have a small saw maker's anvil that I use on my workbench with a small ball pen hammer. I always lusted for a large saw maker's anvils, but they seem less practical than a traditional London Pattern Anvil.

Several years ago I bought this little saw maker's anvil from a guy I bought some other equipment from. No maker's mark, so not sure what type it is.

(As a drive-by, an old Beardshaw that Sir BarleyS brought over to this side of the pond...:p It has the biggest honkin' brass back you have ever seen on a handsaw...it is a monster piece of brass. Simon did send another saw nut since.