Brittain Hoole & Co 14" Backsaw

Discussion in 'Forum: Saw Identification and Discussion' started by WhidbeyBob, Jun 27, 2012.

1. WhidbeyBob

WhidbeyBob New Member

Hello All,

Ray graciously created an account for me. Thanks again Ray.

Obviously, my first post here.

On father's day I was in Bellingham, WA in an antique store not looking for anything in particular. We just sometimes just like to wander around looking at old stuff. I'm sure some of you understand. Tucked in on a shelf I found what looked like an older backsaw. It was grimy but there was no heavy rust and from what I could tell it wasn't pitted hardly at all. The blade was straight and the handle was mostly there. The trademark stamp on the back was mostly illegible but I could make out Sheffield. The price was right so I brought it home.

I'll preface the next part of the story to say that I'm a hobbyist woodworker always looking to expand my hand tool collection. Any tool I buy, I buy with the intention of using. So, hopefully my actions below didn’t ruin my kids inheritance. :D

I spent some time with a scrub pad, a small metal pick and mineral spirits and got the trademark cleaned up well enough to see what looks like "BRITTAIN HOOLE & CO" "VICTOIA WORKS" "SHEFFIELD" and in smaller letters stamped to the right of the trademark are the words "German Steel".

I found in another thread on this site the following:
    BRITTAIN, HOOLE & Co SHEFFELD
    5 Arundel Lane 1833-1837
    Samuel Swann Brittain and Henry Hoole: saw, file and calico web manufacturers, and steel refiners.

The crosscut blade is rectangular and is 14†long and is 3 3/8†wide. There are what looks like 11 TTP at the nose and heel. The back is ~5/16†thick. The blade is .033†thick with a pitch of ~.037' wide. So, that would be a .004 set, right? Or something like that. :)