Tyzack 14" (10 PPI) brass backsaw dating

Discussion in 'Forum: Saw Identification and Discussion' started by mikey, Jul 10, 2017.

1. mikey

mikey Member

Hello everybody :),
    I'm an Italian woodworker and felt this was the right place to share my first backsaw purchase !!!
    I've disassembled the saw in order to clean it properly,
    and to fix some small issues with handle and saw plate straightness.
    I will keep updating thread during restoration,
    I hope you will enjoy ;).
    In addition to this I'm looking for some informations about the age of the saw,
    with its split nuts and handmade handle it looks quite old to me,
    But what is your opinion in regard ?

Attached Files:

Last edited: Jul 10, 2017
  2. mikey

mikey Member

At the moment I'm dealing with the lamb's tongue that has got one side broken,
    I'm glueing a couple of small beech pieces for carving the missing part !!!

Attached Files:

3. mikey

mikey Member

Also there is this intriguing name "A. Burdell" on the handle and on the brass back that would be very interesting to know something about !!!

Attached Files:

4. kiwi

kiwi Most Valued Member

Nice old saw Mikey,
    The saw is likely a bit more than 100yrs old (Simon Barley's reference book shows a similar spine mark that's estimated at about 1910)
    "A Burdell" would have been a previous owner, who stamped his saw to identify ownership. ( If you search that name in old census lists from the area the saw came from, there is a slight chance you might find a carpenter with that name )
    When you have renovated it to your satisfaction and have it back in good working order, I'm sure it will give you pleasure every time you use it.

5. mikey

mikey Member

Thankyou very much Kiwi for your help,
    I really appreciate !!!
    I've heard about 1st, 2nd and 3rd quality line saws ... How can I understand what quality is my saw ?
    Where do you find the informations I keep reading about on this forum ?

6. mikey