Sanderson Brothers & Newboult Ltd

Discussion in 'Forum: Saw Identification and Discussion' started by rilanda, Jul 8, 2011.

1. rilanda

rilanda Member

As a 19 year old apprentice wood machinist back in the year 1956 I had the pleasure of visiting the above companies Sheffield works on a private visit, the memories of that visit remain with me to this day. As an apprentice I was being taught the art of running a 54" Robinson re-saw so my initial interest at that time was primarily Circular Saws and I remember very well seeing two circular saw each 13 feet diameter in their course of manufacture both saws destined for China (so I was informed).
    Another part of my apprenticeship included the sharpening and maintenance of both circular and hand saws, therefore the handsaw section of this company was of great interest to me.
    My days of interest in large circular re-saws have long since past; the wide band saw having largely replaced them, but my interest in handsaws has grown with the years. The hand saw maintenance skills I was taught as an apprentice have been of value throughout my life. I have topped, sharpened and set many handsaws both for myself and a large number of people I have worked with over the years, and this interest in handsaws I believe was spawned by this visit to these works and the skills observed in that section of the works.
    I have an old booklet published by this company that is called "HANDSAWS", the last two pages of this publication is a series of seven photographs showing manufacturing processes at the company. If these photos can be downloaded to backsaw.net without infringing copyright then I would do so, what do you think? I have searched through the booklet and can not find any indication that the publication has any copyright protection.
    The rest of the booklet is all about choice of saw and saw maintenance with a number of illustrations of the various processes.
    regards

Last edited: Jul 23, 2011
  2. ray