1. Dusty Shed Dweller

Dusty Shed Dweller Most Valued Member

A subject that has been avoided for a long time is a basic history of the E.C. Atkins Company, and dating of their product line. I was hoping that one of the very knowledgeable US-based collectors would have prepared something by now but I the meantime these notes are what I have been able to piece together from old catalogues and documents (thanks to Viktor).

Apologies to Simon, this is my first attempt at documenting this kind of thing.

E.C. Atkins & Co. was a major American saw and tool manufacturer based in Indianapolis, Indiana. Prior to 1893 the company concentrated on lumber, mill and circular saws, of which they were a major player but hand saws started to appear in the 1890’s catalogues. Atkins was purchased by the Borg-Warner Corporation in 1952; the factory at Indianapolis was closed in 1960-61 and operations were relocated to Greenville, Mississippi. The Nicholson File Co. bought the Atkins Division of Borg- Warner in 1966. Nicholson consolidated or eliminated many “Atkins” products, although some saws were produced under the Nicholson name before production ceased.

Identifying an Atkins saw;

Three styles of medallion nuts adorn products E.C. Atkins’ products (see Summerfi’s medallion links), which colloquially are ascribed as the old style “inset AAA”, the middle period “AAA circular saw” logo and the late-era “block text” logo. It is unclear what timeframes these medallions represent but my estimates are ca. 1893-1952 for the AAA medallion, 1952-1960 for the circular-saw style medallion and 1960-1966 for the script logo (If you have any definitive advice re dating of these I would greatly appreciate hearing from you).