Mystery Handle Info

Discussion in 'Forum: Saw Identification and Discussion' started by sawnuts, Dec 29, 2013.

1. sawnuts

sawnuts Member

I just purchased this handle with rather new blade that was obviously added recently. I am considering adding a proper blade (10" brass back) to restore it properly. I am no expert in British saws but I doubt this is from anywhere else.
    The handle has a few features that I feel separate it from the rest. The "hook" although not common state side is indicative of an earlier saw. The lower "tongue" that is adjacent to the pinky finger as you hold it is long and has a graceful curve. The chamfers on the cheek area come to a point which is echoed into the hand hole in front of where the index finger would be located.

My question is this. Does anyone have a similar handle? Could anyone venture a guess on the maker or date of manufacture?

I am also looking for new bolts that seem to be around 13/32' in diameter (metric?) I may be looking to install a new blade and back to fit.

any info would be appreciated.

Mark

Attached Files:

2. fred0325

fred0325 Most Valued Member

Hi Mark,

I am not going to be an enormous amount of help as I do not have a handle like it (I only wish that I did)!!

Looking at the handle I am going to make an extreme WAG and hazard that it is either from a quality saw, or an early saw or both.

I can give no rational explanation for the assertion, but the handle just looks too delicate, complex and well made to be off a cheap later saw.

It is silly to try to ascribe dates, but I have said some silly things on here in the past and there is no reason to change old habits.

Pre 1835 and very possibly pre 1825. Or a very very good quality slightly later saw.

Fred

3. David

David Most Valued Member

Hi Mark,