Need help with a couple of saws

Discussion in 'Forum: Saw Identification and Discussion' started by carnick, Oct 8, 2012.

1. carnick

carnick New Member

First I would just like to introduce myself, my name is Nick and I am new to backsaws.net.

I have a couple of saws that have stamps on them but I just need help with dating and if someone could provide me with some more info on them it would be very appreciated.

The first one I have is stamped Rainbow & Sons Sheffield and has an emblem above it. To the right of that it says Warranted Cast Steel. I've looked everywhere for this manufacturer on the internet and in books and cannot find anything on them. Does anyone know anything about this manufacturer and a date maybe for this saw?

The second one I have says Charles Peace Sheffield Cast Steel and a number 4 on it. I know there was a Charles Peace that co-owned Eagle Works. Is this the same person. I haven't been able to find a saw like this one that just has his name on it. Would this have been pre eagle works? I would love to have more info on this saw and maybe a date if possible.

Thank you.
    -Nick

Attached Files:

2. carnick

carnick New Member

Here is the second one.

Attached Files:

3. fred0325

fred0325 Most Valued Member

Hi Nick,

A very quick reply as I am pushed for time, but your Rainbow saw is in HSMOB as a London maker, with no dates ascribed. BUT, your saw bears the USE candlestick and may therefore be a secondary line of R Groves and Sons. An interesting saw if it is a Groves.

In HSMOB there is no Charles Peace in isolation as a maker, and as you say, is in partnership with William K. at the Eagle works. Neither are any of the listed trade marks "Ibbotson", "Peace and Co." and "R Ibbotson" the same as yours, and so it may be possible that he was an independent maker at some stage.