J. Taylor & Son hand saw

Discussion in 'Forum: Saw Identification and Discussion' started by Daryl Weir, Jan 17, 2015.

1. Daryl Weir

Daryl Weir Guest

Hey All,

New to here but not new to saws in general. I've been working on saws for about 15 years now and have enjoyed every minute of it. I'm pretty familiar with most of the U.S.A. made saws but lack any good knowledge on English made ones. My collecting interest has always been the U.S.A. made ones but this saw caught my eye.

I have a question on an old J. Taylor & Son 26in. hand saw I just refurbished & sharpened. I purchased it on a whim on eBay a while back with a best offer that was accepted. Now I know the thing was in rough shape when I bought it, but it appeared from the open grain in the poor pictures, that it was either mahogany or rosewood. I believe this is a dark Cuban mahogany because of it's reddish appearance and not Brazilian rosewood or East Indian. The weight and aroma just isn't there for Brazilian rosewood either. The 5 screws appear to be made from iron and are somewhat crudely made.

The blade was badly rusted and even after cleaning there are very small pin prick pits left but I expected that. This saw cuts beautifully, so they didn't hurt anything after a light side dressing of the teeth. The top/bottom horns & the front side of the birds mouth had some pretty good damage on them which I repaired with some old mahogany that I had from an old level. There was also a split right through the cheek on each side that was filled with epoxy for the repair. I stained the horns, since they were a lighter mahogany to match the surrounding wood the best I could with the old wood being left alone as far as stain is concerned. One coat of dewaxed garnet shellac was applied with the rest being lacquer.