Edward Davies info?

Discussion in 'Forum: Saw Identification and Discussion' started by Scott M., Jul 7, 2019.

1. Scott M.

Scott M. Active Member

Hello all,
    Just picked this saw up at a flea market for $5. I don't find many back saws this age in the "wild." 1850-60ish? I am by no means an expert on English stuff. The handle is pretty beat up and I could not see a makers name until I got it home and lightly cleaned it. The plate is 16in. Turns out it is stamped low on the spine Edward Davies and far to the right cast steel. No sign of a location of manufacture. I looked it up in BSSM and found a small entry. It states "not identified; a hand saw of c1890 has been recorded at online auction, with the mark EDWARD DAVIES/CAST STEEL. The name does not occur in any Sheffield
    trade directory between 1850 and 1920. It is possible that it was made for the hammer maker and ironmonger David Davies, who worked during the last quarter of the 19th century, and who may have had a relative with this forename."
    From this entry this sounds like it may be something uncommon? Anyone know or find anything else about Edward Davies?
    Thanks,
    Scott

2. Joe S

Joe S Most Valued Member

Hey Scott
    It seems that the Davies/Davis name causes all kinds of questions on this forum. Is it possible we could get some pics of the saw and any of the stamp or etch? It might help in giving some sort of time line or even a ball park where we might start looking based on the "look" or the clues to a possible date. Looking forward to a pic or two.
    enjoy
    Joe S.

3. Scott M.

Scott M. Active Member

Hey Joe,
    I've been trying to send pictures but having trouble for some reason!

4. Scott M.

Scott M. Active Member

Hey guys ,
    I finally got some pictures to go through!
    Scott

Attached Files:

shoarthing likes this.
  5. Joe S

Joe S Most Valued Member

Hey Scott/