Spear & Jackson n°26 with wobbly handle

Discussion in 'Forum: Saw Identification and Discussion' started by ian_gm, Feb 23, 2017.

1. ian_gm

ian_gm New Member

Hello !

This is my first post here. I am completely new to hand tools and have only ever used any sort of tools to do - not very good - diy jobs around the house.

However, somehow, the bug has bitten and I have started hand tool wood working, and so far am absolutely loving it.

Enough about me, let's get to the star of this post... instead of buying a new saw, I bought an old dovetail saw on ebay. It was cheaper than any new one I seen and looks so much nicer. I received it last weekend and have had a little time with it and I find it cuts really well. It starts easy and cuts quite fast and straight. I love the feel of it. Knowing it has cut some many dovetails before, it must must cutting them by itself. It certainly feels that way :)

There is one small issue though, that is that the handle has a slight movement in the axis of the handle - so up and down. It's only slight and doesn't interfere with the cut at all, but I would like to get it perfect. So that's my question... how do I do this ? Like I mentioned, I have two left hands so I'm not comfortable doing anything until I get some sort of advice from knowledgable people (that would be you lot !).

While I'm here... I can't find much info about this n°26. There seems to be a year (1900) carved into the handle (see photo, I highlighted it), so I'm guessing that a previous owner did that and hence the saw is at least 117 years old !
    If anyone can share any more info about the S&J 26 I would be grateful.

Thanks !

DSCF2247_1.jpg DSCF2250_1.jpg DSCF2247_2.jpg

2. Dusty Shed Dweller

Dusty Shed Dweller Most Valued Member

Unfortunately a common issue with two bolt saws, particularly ones with split nuts.... which exacerbates the issue as the blade rocks to and through and slowly cuts through the bolt shanks and accelerates the problem.