Breaking teeth when setting

Discussion in 'Help Forum' started by Tom Meaney, Nov 15, 2015.

1. Tom Meaney

Tom Meaney New Member

First off I am a novice woodworker.
    I have a Crownshaw & Chapman 14" backsaw I purchased at a used tool store. Teeth were in bad shape so I filed them down completely.
    I've never attempted filing in new teeth but I took my time and filed them in at 10 tpi. They came out reasonably well.
    As I set them about 4 to 6 teeth broke off. Is it something I'm doing or is the steel defective or what?
    Any advice is appreciated.

2. Underthedirt

Underthedirt Most Valued Member

Hi, one thing that I always to do before setting the teeth on a hand saw is to warm up the plate slightly by leaving it in the sun for a little while, so the plate is not cold.
    If I may ask, how are you setting the teeth?
    Regards

Mari

3. Tom Meaney

Tom Meaney New Member

Thank you for the reply. I am using one of the commercial saw set tools I purchased from Highland Woodworker. I got a tool for both fine teeth and course. I used the fine set tool setting the anvil at approx 12 on the tool.
    I live in Tucson Az so good strong sunshine is not difficult to find, thank you for the tip.

Tom

4. Dusty Shed Dweller

Dusty Shed Dweller Most Valued Member

A quick answer to an issue that has raised essays before;

1. The set itself;

You mention that you have a pair of sets... I assume that they are the Somax (or equivalent) brand ones? These have a steeper anvil angle and hence are more prone to snap teeth than other common "plier" type sets (eg the Stanley 42 family). The numbers on the sets DO NOT correspond to the tooth spacing but are simply for reference. Always start at the lowest setting.

Assuming that you don't have a dud plate (over-hard or poor, coarse grained steel)...

2. The process;

Don't work on a cold plate
    Use less set (3-5 thou each side is plenty on most saws) - you can always add more later.