Taylor, London or Taylor Brothers

Discussion in 'Forum: Saw Identification and Discussion' started by fred0325, May 3, 2011.

1. ray

ray Administrator Staff Member

Hi Fred,

Here's a quick answer (for a change :) ) the original Taylor Brothers were Joseph and John, so maybe they chose to use "I" rather than "J" as a means of distinguishing between them..

J. Taylor, I Taylor, J & I Taylor and a zillion other brands..

I haven't given a whole lot of thought to this, and it's most likely flawed reasoning...

Regards
    Ray

2. Loading...

Loading... New Member

Need Help

I am a newbie here but I joined this forum because I read this thread about the Taylor Brothers saws and I happen to have one which I would like to learn more about.

This was handed down to me and I really want to know more

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

I want to know age, history and value $ how much its worth.

Thanks

3. Loading...

Loading... New Member

4. fred0325

fred0325 Most Valued Member

Hi,

I am not sure that I can be a lot of help on this, but I will try what I can.

Unfortunately there is no indication of which "Adelaide Works" that your saw was made in from the saw itself. According to "Hand Saw Makers Of Britain" Taylor Brothers existed between 1849 and 1915 (possibly a little later). But they called their premises the Adelaide Works for all but 1 year (1855) of that time, and so that is not much help.

The thing that I did notice is that you have split nuts but a raised medallion. I would guess that the medallion alone would put the saw at 1900 to 1914 -ish, (possibly a little later or earlier but not much) but I do stand to be corrected on that. These two features do not really mix on many saws that I have seen. It is either split nuts and flat medallion or domed nuts and a raised medallion.